Personal injury law firm in New York | Experienced Lawyers | Gash & Associates, P.C. Logo and Icon

How Long After a Car Accident Can You File a Police Report in New York?

Reporting a car accident to the police | motor vehicle accidents law firm | Gash & Associates, P.C.

Getting into a car accident is incredibly stressful. Not only could there be damage to your car, but you also might have gotten injured. This may set you back for weeks, months, or years on end depending on the severity of your injuries.

No matter what, you need to take immediate action following your car accident to have the best chance possible of getting a favorable outcome for your case.

Filing a Police Report

It’s critical to file a police report when you’re still at the scene of the accident. Call the police right away to report the accident and get your injuries and damage to your car on record. If you didn’t do this when your accident occurred, you only have 10 days from the day the accident happened to file the report.

Bringing About a Personal Injury Lawsuit

If you didn’t file a police report within the 10 days, you could still bring about a personal injury lawsuit, as long as you’re within the timeframe to file. In New York, the statute of limitations on personal injury lawsuits is three years from the date of your accident. However, it’s best to file as soon as possible. Then, you’ll show the defendant’s insurance company that your injuries are serious because you didn’t wait. Plus, you’ll remember the details of your accident much more clearly.

Contact a Personal Injury Lawyer

If you need representation after a car accident in New York, contact a personal injury lawyer like Gash & Associates for help. We help clients throughout Westchester County retrieve the compensation they deserve, so they don’t have to worry about paying their medical bills. The best part? We offer a free consultation. Get in touch today at (914) 328-8800.